Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York

Oscar Noriega, Briggan Krauss – alto sax
Tony Malaby, Ellery Eskelin – tenor sax
Andy Laster – baritone sax
Herb Robertson, Dave Ballou, Natsuki Tamura – trumpet
Curtis Hasselbring, Joe Fiedler – trombone
Nels Cline – guitar
Stomu Takeishi – bass
Ches Smith – drums

One of our era’s greatest big-band composers, Satoko Fujii has led numerous orchestras but the Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York was the first. Featuring an all-star line-up of 13 of the best players in jazz, nine of whom have played in the group since they came together in 1996, the orchestra showcases Fujii’s unfailingly exciting music whose urgency and brio is born of the mutual admiration between the performers and composer. More than 20 years after its founding, Fujii continues to inspire her orchestra and be inspired by them.

The Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York has earned the highest critical praise with CDs chosen as among the Top albums of the year in publications such as Jazziz, Cadence, Coda, Swing Journal, NPR and more.

“This big band packs fierce solo power, but Fujii flexes all that muscle masterfully.” – Tom Hull, The Village Voice

“Fujii’s inspiration here comes from the Fukushima nuclear disaster, and the sustained merger of composed and improvised textures insists on comparison with the best of the jazz orchestral tradition, from Duke Ellington to Charles Mingus, Carla Bley and Sun Ra.” – Stuart Broomer, The Whole Note

 “She uses the band to full advantage, with symphonic swells and stomping rhythms, sounding every bit as fresh as Ellington must have 60 years ago… Fujii is never one to disappoint, and Blueprint delivers.” – Kurt Gottschalk, All About Jazz

 “One of the most formally successful, poignant and meaningful works of the first glimpse of the new Century.” – Aldo Gionolio, Audio Review 

“… a dazzling display of composition and improvisation… As the musicians soar, unfettered and free, they gather atmosphere and imagery to flesh and blood the compositions… Fujii delivers again.” – Jerry D’Souza, All About Jazz  

Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York has released eleven recordings: South Wind (1997), JO (1999), Double Take (2000), The Future Of The Past (2003), Blueprint (2004), Undulation (2006), Summer Suite (2008), Eto (2011), Shiki (2014), Fukushima (2017), and Entity (2020).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *